Introducing Her Royal Majesty, The Queen… of Excuses.

Jason and I have been talking a lot more frequently about the issues I have been stuggling with concerning my art and the steps I am going to take to overcome my self-doubt and reservations as an artist. I can sit here and go on and on about all of the reasons I have been frozen in my path to become a successful artist – the blame game, if you will. But all that I would be doing is cleverly disguising my trump card of self-doubt: The Excuse.

I am the Queen of Excuses. I never have enough time, supplies, inspiration, reference material. There is never a good enough spot to draw. I feel bad. There’s too many chores. I haven’t given Dexter enough attention. I haven’t scratched my butt 3 times, winked twice, and spit on the left side of the sidewalk at the exact lunar time. Trust me, I am the Queen.

I know I am a good artist. I know that I can succeed in my dreams to become a children’s book illustrator and author. The only problem is, I need to be able to REMEMBER that. So, this is my first official acknowledgement of my royal status… and my first step to dissolving my throne.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Julie
    Jan 27, 2012 @ 14:12:25

    Good for you for KNOWING that you have avoidance issues. That is indeed the first step.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

