A Stitch in the Right Direction

Feeling a little bit better today. Hopefully, the antibiotics are kicking in full swing. I went to Jo-Ann Fabrics yesterday afternoon. I got some basic white cotton fabric, embroidery needles and thread, a hoop, and a book about embroidery and basic projects. I have been interested in trying some of the mixed media work I have seen in Cloth Paper Scissors and Somerset Studios magazines I have read recently, so here is my chance. I didn’t spend a lot up front on supplies – we’ll see how it goes before making a bigger investment.

I’ve always done well with sewing, even though I haven’t done a lot of it. A couple of years ago, I made costumes for myself and my friend for Halloween. They were done by hand, no patterns (they were just basic dress and cape designs, I’m no guru) – but they held together, and I even won the top costume prize at the party! Probably more for the makeup and my hamming it up on stage – but I thought I looked pretty snazzy!

If things work out well, I may be asking for a machine for my birthday, but I haven’t even looked at prices. So, I have a feeling it will be more like I’ll be picking up my mom’s old machine next time we go to visit. We shall see. Either way, I’m excited about my new endeavor and I’ll post my progress as I go.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

